Keep Busy on a Snow Day

Boston is currently getting another foot of snow as I type to add to the two feet from last week. Staying inside all day with nothing to do makes me crazy so here are a few things I like to do to keep moving.

1) Clean everything- I usually despise cleaning and don’t do much more than the minimum but when I’m stuck inside all of a sudden I need to clean every nook and cranny. For our last snow day I took everything out of the fridge and scrubbed the inside down and now the fridge no longer has a weird smell thank god.

2) Meal prep- You’ll be glad later in the week that everything is portioned and ready to go. I usually prep on Sundays but this week I moved it to today since I had more time. My meal prep usually consists of lots of vegetable cutting and bagging and getting meat marinading.

3) Read a book- I’m currently between books but next on my list are Girl Runner and The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up.

4) Go outside- I went snowshoeing after our last snow storm and my most recent craigslist search was for cross country skis (no one is currently selling) followed by snow mobiles. When all else fails inside- go out!

IMG_0417

I took this snowshoeing in my back yard last week

And while you’re outside help your neighborhood fire department by shoveling out a nearby hydrant. If you’re in Boston check out the Adopt a Fire Hydrant website.

Leave a Reply

